Tag Archives: tour

Virginia’s pageninetynine and Majority Rule reform & announce seven-date benefit tour!


Pretty damn stoked that longtime friends pageninetynine and Majority Rule are announcing a joint tour this September on the east coast. These two bands, hailing originally from northern Virginia, are reforming (in Majority Rule’s case, after thirteen years) for a special and urgent reason – to mobilize those concerned about the political climate in this country.

Each show will benefit a local grassroots organization on the frontlines fighting for civil rights, LGBT rights, youth rights, immigrant and refugee rights, and reproductive rights and justice.

The shows are as follows:

Sept. 21 – Broadberry, Richmond, VA to benefit Richmond Reproductive Freedom Project
Sept. 22 – St. Stephen’s, Washington, DC to benefit Casa Ruby
Sept. 23 – Baltimore, MD to benefit 901 Arts
Sept. 24 – First Unitarian Church, Philadelphia, PA to benefit Juntos
Sept. 25 – St. Vitus, New York City, NY to benefit New Sanctuary Movement NYC
Sept. 26 – Goldsounds, New York City, NY to benefit New York Legal Assistance Group
Sept. 27 – Great Scott, Boston, MA to benefit the Massachusetts Immigrant and Refugee Action Coalition

Majority Rule and pageninetynine garnered a cult following in the 2000s, touring relentlessly in the U.S., Canada and Europe – often together. They released a split LP and at times shared members and vocal duties. In large part, the bands were fueled by a love of their community in northern Virginia.

Through these shows, they aim to share a broader love for community in general. Beneficiary organizations will be tabling and speaking at events, and members of the band are available for comment about why they are choosing to organize a series of DIY punk shows as a site of resistance. Not only do the bands want showgoers to attend – they hope people will walk away from these events with a sense of how they can participate in building communities where people stand up for others through decisive action.

More information can be found at www.majrule.com

June distro updates + WRONG & HOUSE OF LIGHTNING tour dates, TERMINAL FUZZ TERROR video and more!

After the April/Mayhem of our Whatever Nevermind tribute to NIRVANA, we were inundated in mailorder for the bulk of the month. Thank you to everyone who ordered the record, had patience as we got it to you, shared a track online, gram’d a photo of the vinyl alongside your favorite food or beverage, and/or otherwise just gave a crap. It’s been an ambitious and exciting release, and now that the dust has settled on mailorder and Record Store Day, less than 30 copies remain. Last chance ta dance on grabbing that in our Online Store, but be sure to read below for all the good new stuff we’ve gotten as well.

photo by Jack (is the) Barfield
One of the thirteen bands who contributed to Whatever Nevermind was Miami’s WRONG, who battered us with an offkilter rendition of “Stay Away”. This crew of miscreants can’t sit still, and are hitting the road again from June through August in an ever-mutating form, backed (in part) by Rick from TORCHE on drums. Their incestuous Lernaean nature means half of WRONG is now the rhythm section of riff-hurricane HOUSE OF LIGHTNING who will be across all tour dates as well, and a blistering new album is on the visible horizon… Full dates found below, or right here. WRONG‘s debut 12″ EP is available in our Online Store, as is the first HOUSE OF LIGHTNING album – right here.

Alongside WRONG‘s debut EP back in March we also released Seattle squad TERMINAL FUZZ TERROR‘s vinyl debut, Vol. 0: In The Shadow Of The Mountain. These psychedelic beasts have just launched a flash new music video for key cut “Senseless Boogie”, which is up now on ye’ olde YouTube. You can pick up Vol. 0: In The Shadow Of The Mountain in all its uber-deluxe silk-screened-packaging glory AND/OR some fancy ass TERMINAL FUZZ TERROR t-shirts over at the Robotic Empire – Online Store.

Beyond all that cool stuff, some Robo-related artists are kicking in new forms and we’ve done our best to stock their latest tunes. Along with some killer new stuff and restocks from the likes of ANNE, BIG BUSINESS, ELDER, FORN, IRON REGAN, LIGTNING BOLT, LITURGY, NOTHING, PRIMITIVE MAN, THE SADDEST LANDSCAPE, TOE and a bunch of others, it’s exciting to announce the new release from ANCIENT SKY members ‘other’ group DOMMENGANG which is absolutely killer psych-rock gold, and SUMAC‘s bludgeoning debut which contains one Aaron Turner of ISIS, HOUSE OF LOW CULTURE, OLD MAN GLOOM and many more. Lots of cool stuff added to our Online Store, here’s the full list:

* Anne – Dream Punx 12″ – CLEAR COLORED VINYL (A389) $14.99
* Big Business – Battlefields Forever 12″ (Gold Metal) $19.99
* Braid – No Coast 12″ – ORANGE BLACK COLORED VINYL (Top Shelf) $13.99
* Circuit des Yeux – In Plain Speech 12″ – WHITE COLORED VINYL (Thrill Jockey) $0
* Colleen – Captain of None 12″ (Thrill Jockey) $18.99
* Dommengang – Everybodys Boogie 12″ (Thrill Jockey) $18.99
* Elder – Demo Cassette (Self Released) $4.99
* Fashion Week – Pret A Porter 12″ (Solar Flare) $19.99
* Forn – The Departure Of Consciousness 12″ (Gilead Media) $12.99
* Generation Of Vipers – Coffin Wisdom 12″ (Gilead) $12.99
* Implodes – Reverser 12″ – PURPLE COLORED VINYL (Gilead Media) $12.99
* Iron Reagan – Spoiled Identity 12″ – GREEN COLORED VINYL (A389) $14.99
* Iron Reagan – Worse Than Dead 12″ – PURPLE COLORED VINYL (A389) $14.99
* Lightning Bolt – Fantasy Empire 2×12″ – PINK COLORED VINYL (Thrill Jockey) $20.99
* Like Rats – Self Titled 12″ (A389) $14.99
* Liturgy – Aesthethica 2×12″ (Thrill Jockey) $21.99
* My Fictions / The Saddest Landscape – Split 12″ – PURPLE COLORED VINYL (Top Shelf) $13.99
* Native Lights – Self-Titled 12″ (Passive) $14.99
* Nothing – Downward Years To Come 12″ – COLORED VINYL (A389) $14.99
* Oozing Wound – Retrash 12″ (Thrill Jockey) $18.99
* Primitive Man / Fister – Split 12″ (A389) $14.99
* Saddest Landscape, The – Exit Wounded 12″ – PINK COLORED VINYL (Top Shelf) $13.99
* Sea Of Bones – The Earth Wants Us Dead – Self Titled 3×12″ (Gilead Media) $34.99
* Sumac – The Deal 2×12″ (Thrill Jockey) $28.99
* Toe – For Long Tomorrow 12″ – GREEN COLORED VINYL (Top Shelf) $13.99
* Toe – New Sentimentality 12″ – TAN COLORED VINYL (Top Shelf) $13.99
* Toe – Songs, Ideas We Forgot 12″ – PURPLE COLORED VINYL (Top Shelf) $13.99
* White Hills – Walks For Motorists 12″ – COLORED VINYL (Thrill Jockey) $18.99

That’s the latest and greatest, please be sure to hit up our Online Store for all this and thousands of other titles. Full dates for HOUSE OF LIGHTNING + WRONG‘s eternity-tour can be found below:

June 19 • Backbooth • Orlando, FL
June 20 • Churchill’s Pub • Miami, FL
June 21 • Crowbar • Tampa, FL
June 22 • The Earl • Atlanta, GA
June 23 • TBA • Nashville, TN
June 24 • Hi-Tone • Memphis, TN
June 25 • Stickyz Rock N Roll Chicken Shack • Little Rock, AR
June 26 • Soundpony • Tulsa, OK
June 27 • FUBAR • St. Louis, MO
June 28 • Kirby’s Beer Store • Wichita, KS
June 29 • Flux Capacitor • Colorado Springs, CO
June 30 • NEED HELP! • Salt Lake City, UT
July 1 • Crazy Horse • Boise, ID
July 2 • Dante’s • Portland, OR (no WRONG*)
July 3 • Chop Suey • Seattle, WA (no WRONG*)
**TORCHE TOUR w/ MELT BANANA – July 2nd – Aug 1st**
August 2 • Harlow’s • Sacramento, CA (no DEAD)
The following dates include DEAD from Australia mate:
August 3 • All Star Lanes • Los Angeles, CA
August 4 • NEED HELP
August 5 • Rebel Lounge • Phoenix, AZ
August 6 • NEED HELP • El Paso, TX
August 7 • Paper Tiger • San Antonio, TX
August 8 • Mohawk • Austin, TX
August 9 • Three Links • Dallas, TX
August 10 • Siberia • New Orleans, LA
August 11 • The Atlantic • Gainesville, FL
August 12 • Churchill’s Pub • Miami, FL